Every time my daughter sings an angel loses its wings.

This is terrible. I’m about to make fun of my darling, four year old daughter. I love her more than anything in the world but when she sings I want to hit myself in the head with a claw hammer.  I know I can’t expect her tone to be perfect but, as a musician, I have to scrutinize every single note I hear. Even so, it’s the cutest thing I’ve ever heard. This morning while I was getting ready for work I heard Allison in her room rocking out to one of those Kidz Bop CDs. The song playing at the time was Since You’ve Been Gone by Kelly Clarkson. I had no idea she had any interest in this song but I found out pretty quickly as she started to belt out the lyrics to the best of her ability AND at the top of her voice. After my initial laughter settled I ran to get my LS-11 so I could capture this moment , unbeknownst to her, for posterity…and to embarrass her with twelve years from now.

For everything I use my LS-11 linear PCM recorder for my favorite application, hands down, is capturing the adorable, though sometimes grating, voice of my baby girl. These are the moments I’m going to cherish forever. So, without further adieu, here’s a sound clip of my daughter singing the chorus to Since You’ve Been Gone.

3 Responses

  1. Cute! These are the sort of moments that every parent wants to capture… so they can embarrass their kids later. ;p

    • Indeed! This is one of the few I’ve captured without her knowing it. Usually I hand her the recorder and capture the incredibly inventive and funny stories she tells.

  2. […] few months back I was lucky enough to have my digital voice recorder handy for the whole Since You’ve Been Gone episode. Last night my wife heard her singing to the bedtime mix of songs I made for her recently. […]

Leave a Reply

