Digital Voice Recording Applications – vol. 2: Health

As we continue our series on uses you may never have thought of for digital voice recorders, I’d like to introduce you to some health-related applications. The key to this particular installment is that our recorders, unlike humans, have a memory that never forgets.

1) Sometimes going to the doctor’s office can be confusing and stressful.  Naturally, your head may be elsewhere when doctors and nurses give counsel and advice. Having a recorder on hand ensures that you’ll be able to refer to all of those critical details at a later time. I find this handy when my aging father heads off to a doctor’s appointment that I cannot attend. I like to be able to get his side of the story and then verify it against the doctor’s actual advice.

2) Before you even schedule an appointment with a doctor, your recorder will allow you to keep track of your symptoms so you can recall all of the important little details. Already into recovery phase? Keep track of your progress for your next visit.

3) If you take more than a couple of prescription drugs regularly you know how important it is to understand their interactions. Recording your pharmacist’s advice or instructions will allow you to refer back regularly so you can medicate safely.

4) On a diet? You know how difficult and inconvenient it is to pull out a pen and paper and log what you eat. At the same time, most experts agree that creating a log provides eating awareness that’s helpful for achieving your goal. Grab your recorder, make a quick note and transfer to your written log at the end of the day. This is especially helpful when following the Weight Watchers program.

5) When seeing a therapist there’s nothing more comforting than knowing that he/she is with you when you most need it. Record your sessions and you can have your therapist with you 24-7.

These are just a few of the many medical-related uses for digital handheld recorders. If you have any additional ideas you’d like to share, we’d love to hear from you.

One Response

  1. I have used my loving DM-520, DS-71, and DS-50, and WS-320 recorders for the most unusual things. I used the loving WS-320 recorder to recorded my husband and his brother pour cement! I use my loving DS-50 to record phone numbers, information about appointments, and Two years ago, I used the Loving DS-71 to record my husband’s Liver Biopsy. I also recorded his Oncologists visit with him as well. I have recorded my speech synthesizer studdering while trying to burn a CD. I recorded my office visit with my physician when I was talking to him about my cancer surgery I was scheduled to have last July. When I say the Olympus recorders are Loving! I mean it! Olympus has strived to provide recorders to meet our needs, and this new up-coming DM-4 is going to be loving as well! I can’t wait! Hats Off to the Loving Olympus Company! Keep up the excellent work! from Pat Ferguson, a reseller of Olympus Products.

Leave a Reply

